Estevan Arts Council hands out scholarships to talented young people

The Estevan Arts Council provided a helping hand to talented young artists in the area by presenting scholarships on Thursday afternoon at its craft room.

A total of 27 scholarships, worth $100 each, were handed out. They will cover a portion of the costs for students to attend the camps, allowing them to pursue their passions and further their skills in the summer.

article continues below

The recipients, and the camps they will attend, are as follows:  

Elsie Alexander and Brielle Wakely will attend the Dance Scene 2019 camp.

Kristen Carlson, Laura Christensen, Madeline Christensen, William Duncan, Harrison Froese, Jacob Pyra, Dawson Rensby, Rafe Rensby, Laura Swirski, Kiera Tyler, Kylie Tyler and Michaela Zatko will attend the Kenosee Lake Band Camp.

Kaylee Carlson, Abigail Lachambre Renkas, Brayden Lachambre Renkas, Jack Lachambre Renkas and Megan Zemlak will attend the International Music Camp.

Barrett Fleck, Brianna Fleck, Kiera Shauf and Adeon Sullivan will attend the Souris Valley Theatre camp.

Shauf will also attend the Estevan Recreational Dance Club’s camp. Sienna Kuntz also received a scholarship for the dance club’s camp.

Marley Nashiem, Ekko Sanguin, Payton Sernick and Wakely will go to the Ballet Extravaganza camp. 

© Copyright Estevan Mercury


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Estevan Mercury welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus