Civic election results from towns and villages in southeast Saskatchewan

Residents of urban municipalities went to the polls on Nov. 9 to determine who would be on their councils for the next four years, and many southeast towns and villages had elections.

One of the biggest election fields was in the town of Bienfait. Ken Bonokoski was elected the new mayor with 136 votes, finishing ahead of David MacKenzie, who had 79.

article continues below

Elected as councillors were Gerald Resler (143), Shirley Wheeler (135), David Johnson (108), Ivan Boyer (106), Les Christensen (104) and Steven Matthewson (101). Also on the ballot were Rob Forster (98), Keith Smith (95), Randy Marchand (85), Deidra Maurer (80), Brad Friars (67) and Dion Thieven (48).

In the town of Carnduff, Ross Apperley was elected as mayor with 305 votes, finishing ahead of Kris Carley, who had 113.

Elected as councillors were Joel Purves (335 votes), Greg Wall (290), Linda Powell (267), Kelly Exner (255), Mike Fowler (247) and Mike Pirie (235). Other candidates were Roy Annetts (227), Jamie Didrick (146), Kevin Daryl Lesy (144) and Shane Marsh (74).

For the town of Lampman, John Jones received 203 votes for mayor, defeating Janice Bernier, who received 89.

As for councillor, elected were Ryan Saxon (218), Daryle Runge (200), Dustin Ferguson (199), Randy Fleck (197), Duane Freeden (166) and Glen Fichter (163). Other candidates were Garrett Woodley (123), Damon Sutherland (118), Twyla Quantrill (112), Richard Kochie (83), Mark Morissette (49) and Paul Zabel (35).

In the town of Stoughton, Clarence Hoffort was elected as mayor with 186 votes, finishing ahead of Zachary Calibaba (43).

Elected as councillor were Shirley Coderre (166), Stefan Clark (163), Scott Ogilvie (151), Bradley Gervais (146), Danielle Hoffman (144) and Derek Hoffman (130). Other candidates were Karen Coderre (120), Colleen Andris (74), Alysson Slater (61), Robert Andris (52) and Edgar Matthes (36).

For the second straight election, residents in the village of Macoun had a large field to select from. Three candidates were running for mayor. Suzanne Kuchinka received 48 votes to finish ahead of Glenys Baerg and Kelly Foord, who each received 41.

Frank Schaefer led the councillor race with 82 votes. Also elected were Vince Martin (77), Dave Schindel (73) and Judy Sovdi (44).

Chris DeBruyne (39), Todd Dougall (36), Juergen Hauck (34), Vi Neb (32), Jack Hancock (30), Grant Dube (29), Dalle Hillier (19) and Jim Kolenz (12) were defeated.

Other communities had elections for mayor or councillor, but not both.

In the town of Alameda, Jeff Carmeron (113 votes), Dwayne Henderson 106), Dean Copeland (105), Jennifer Cobham (90), Donna Griffin (89) and Janelle Dorrance (78) were elected. Other candidates were Skylar Antoniuk (70), Elizabeth Lischynski (64) and Christine Tanghe (17).

A councillor election was needed for town councillor in Carlyle, with seven candidates on the ballot. Hugh Hislop finished first with 204 votes, followed by Jared Riddell (195), Nicole Currie (194), John Brownlee (191), Gordon Paulley (178) and Kelly Lutz (163). Scott Kirness finished with 98 votes and was defeated.

Kyla MacCuish received 37 votes for mayor in the village of Frobisher, finishing ahead of Mark Brock, who had 25.

Jay Riedel is the new mayor in the village of Roche Percee, finishing ahead of Dwain Dzuba by a 32-24 margin.

Seven candidates were vying for four village councillor spots in Gainsborough. Randy Reynolds (90), Cathy Murray (76), Michael Riddell (71) and Roger Galon (57) were elected, while Terri Thoring (46), Kevin Stanley (25) and Adrienne Gardiner (16) were defeated.

In Glen Ewen, Bob Chuba (40 votes) and Blair Hanna (24) were elected as village councillors, while Trina Hitchens (21) was defeated.

Kisbey had eight candidates running for four village councillor spots. James Johnston (51 votes), Elisa Jackson (49), Brody Singleton (41) and Melville Foy (33) were elected, while Sheldon Wyatt (29), Wytt Hall (25), John Voutour (21) and Grant Bueckert (10) were the other candidates.

Elected as village councillors in Manor were Gerald King, Darcy McCrimmon, Craig Savill and Alana Wilson.

In Torquay, Dan Daae (69 votes), Mark Mason (66), Terry Malaryk (60) and Ashlee Friess (56) were elected to the village council. Tyler Boiteau (39) was defeated.

Communities that had election by acclamation were covered in the Nov. 2 edition of the Mercury.


© Copyright Estevan Mercury


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Estevan Mercury welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus

Mandatory masks POLL

Do you agree with the provincial government's decision to make masks mandatory for indoor public settings?

or  view results