Estevan expected to have two new trustees on Cornerstone board

Estevan will need to select two new members to serve on the 10-member board of trustees for the South East Cornerstone Public School Division in the Nov. 9 election.

Incumbents Shari Sutter and Jim Vermeersch have stated they will not be seeking re-election as an Estevan representative at the conclusion of their terms.

article continues below

One other Cornerstone trustee, Harold Laich, has also issued a statement noting he, too, will not be seeking a return to the public division’s boardroom.

All the other trustees in the division have indicated they will seek re-approval from the public in the areas they currently represent, with the exception of Elwood White who represents electors on the western side of the sprawling school division.  He said last week he was still undecided. He has been their representative for the past two terms.

For Vermeersch though, it may not be a goodbye signal.

“I feel I can’t act as a representative for Estevan since I no longer live there. I know technically, I still could, but I feel it just wouldn’t be right. But, I may seek the nomination for Harold’s (Laich) seat seeing as how he is leaving and I now live in that area (Kenosee Lake) that he has represented.”

Laich informed the media that he no longer resides in the Subdivision 2 region (Wawota et al), so his reasoning for stepping down from that post was the same as Vermeersch’s in Estevan. He said it didn’t feel right to try to represent an area in which he no longer lived or worked in. He has served on the board for the past 11 years, including one term as chairman.

Sutter, who is completing her first term as an Estevan representative, said work related duties in the community as well as on their Bienfait-area farm make it difficult to give the time it requires to represent the city fairly.

“Perhaps in another four years, I can, but right now I just don’t want to do half a job. It’s not fair to the board or to Cornerstone staffers,” Sutter said.

With nominations due to be filed by Oct. 7, there is currently one candidate who has filed for Estevan. Eric McCrimmon has filed a nomination form as a candidate for one of the two Estevan seats on the 10-member SECPSD board.

Weyburn representatives Melanie Sorenson and Brandon Tichkowsky said they will be seeking a return to the Cornerstone board room from their electors as will Jim Henderson in the Oxbow, Carnduff, Gainsborough region, which is Subdivision 3.

Kevin Keating will be looking for a return to the boardroom as well as a representative for the Bienfait, Lampman area, which is Subdivision 4 while Carol Flynn, the veteran board member and vice-chairwoman once again wishes to represent Subdivision 1 - Rocanville, Moosomin et al.

Current chairwoman, and also a veteran board member, Audrey Trombley is seeking re-election in Subdivision 5 as a representative for the Midale and Macoun schools among others.

The school board elections are held in concert with the municipal council elections. 


© Copyright Estevan Mercury


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Estevan Mercury welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus

Provincial election POLL

Who do you plan to vote for in the upcoming Saskatchewan election

or  view results