Estevan Wildlife Federation hands out awards

The Estevan Wildlife Federation (EWF) recognized success in fishing, hunting birds and big game, and photography during the organization’s annual awards supper on Saturday night at the Wylie-Mitchell building.

Awards were handed out in numerous categories during the event.

article continues below


In the junior fish category, Spencer Skuce won for the largest perch (six ounces). In senior fish, Murray Mosley won for the largest perch (two pounds), rainbow trout (four pounds, three ounces) and splake (two pounds and 15 ounces), while Joshua Michel won for the biggest largemouth bass (five pounds, six ounces), walleye (six pounds, 14 ounces) and northern pike (16 pounds, eight ounces).

EWF Fish pic
From left, Murray Mosley, Joshua Michel and Spencer Skuce were presented with fishing awards.

In birds, the junior award winners were Katelyn Zucewich for top sharp-tail grouse at 36 bars and 21 3/4-inch length for a total score of 57 3/4. She also had the largest mallard duck (two pounds, 12 ounces), snow goose (six pounds) and Canada goose (13 pounds). Kade Skuce had the heaviest Hungarian partridge (15 ounces) and ruffed grouse (one pound, five ounces), and Logan Skuce had the heaviest sharp-tail grouse (two pounds).

In senior birds, Lyle Daoust had the top pheasant, at 38 bars, and 24 1/4 inches in length for a total score of 62 1/4.

Kyle Skuce had the heaviest Hungarian partridge (one pound), sharp-tail grouse (two pounds) and ruffed grouse (one pound, five ounces). Murray Mosley had the heaviest mallard duck (three pounds), white-fronted goose (six pounds, three ounces), Canada goose (14 pounds, 11 ounces) and snow goose (six pounds, two ounces).

In junior archery, Hunter Chipley took two awards, for the largest typical mule deer with a score of 140 3/8, and for junior bowhunter of the year with an aggregate score of 97.

Archery Big Game
Trophy winners for big game archery were, back row, from left, Hunter Chipley, Nate Smart and Joshua Michel. Front row, Garry Leslie and Chelsea Brady (substituting for Riley Pylychaty).

In senior archery, Riley Pylychaty had the top typical whitetail deer (135 2/8), Joshua Michel the top non-typical mule deer (233 3/8), and Nate Smart had the top antelope (80 4/8). Garry Leslie won for the top typical mule deer (159), black bear (17 7/16) and was name the senior bowhunter of the year, as his whitetail deer, mule deer and black bear had a combined score of 311.

In junior rifle, Jayden Van De Woestyne had the top typical whitetail deer (137 3/8), Hunter Wallster had the top non-typical whitetail deer (128 2/8), Braden Wallster the top typical mule deer (160 7/8), Skylar Millman the top non-typical mule deer (163 5/8), Cameron Sehn the top typical elk (297 4/8) and Krislyn Pylychaty the top black bear (15 3/16).

In women’s rifle, award winners were Carla Peterson for typical mule deer (176), Selene Hegland for antelope (72 6/8) and Carla Clark for typical elk (295 1/8).

In men’s rifle, Kyle Skuce won for typical whitetail deer (144 1/8), Sheldon Michael won for non-typical whitetail deer (162 7/8), Sheldon Michael won for typical mule deer (188), Jim Skuce won for non-typical mule deer (171 4/8), Kevin Thompson won for top moose (168), Dave Clark had the top typical elk (343 2/8) and Nate Smart had the top black bear (20 8/16).

Photography award winners were Kyra Driedger for junior scenic and junior wildlife, Joshua Michel for senior scenic and Mary Jacobs for senior wildlife and photo of the year. All photography awards are co-sponsored by the Estevan Mercury and the EWF.

EWF Photography pic
From left, Mary Jacobs, Joshua Michel and Kyra Driedger were presented with photography awards.


© Copyright Estevan Mercury


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Estevan Mercury welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus

Justin Trudeau POLL

Should Prime Minister Justin Trudeau resign following the ethics commissioner’s report into the SNC-Lavalin scandal?

or  view results