Estevan Motor Speedway wrapped up the 20th year with awards banquet

The Estevan Motor Speedway wrapped up their 20th anniversary season with a great banquet and awards night that was held at the Estevan Exhibition Hall on Saturday.

Racers, their families and fans filled up the building to celebrate another year of roaring speed and exciting competitions that attracted people from many different places.

article continues below

In his speech at the banquet, track president Byron Fichter reflected on the milestone date and the realities the racing world is facing nowadays.

“Twenty years were pretty amazing. It was quite an honour that I could talk to you guys all these 20 years of Estevan Motor Speedway… I want to be racing here for another 20 years and further than that. It’s a cool project,” said Fichter.

He also pointed out that he’s been to many other tracks, and all of them are facing similar challenges. But with the seedway's team, the track has a great future.

“I’ve visited tonnes of tracks all across the states. I just want to say all tracks are struggling. Race teams are struggling, fans are struggling, sponsors are struggling… But we all have to come together and work on this together,” said Fichter.

He also reminded the public that a few years ago they brought in slingshots to get youth involved, and he hopes that these will one day be the people to take over and keep the track going.

This year’s points champions were: Ryder Raynard of Estevan in the slingshots; Leevi Runge of Lampman, hobby stocks; Darren Medler of Minot, sports mods; Joren Boyce of Minot, stock cars; and Travis Hagen, Williston, modifieds.

The runners up for the 2019 season were Jace Emmel of Estevan, slingshots; Landon Runge of Lampman, hobby stocks; Robby Rosselli of Minot, sports mods; Chris Hortness of Estevan, stock car; and Kody Scholpp of Estevan, modifieds.

Rookies of the year were: Scott Curtis of Estevan, hobby stocks; Blake Penna of Estevan, sports mods; Chase Davidson of Estevan, stock cars; and Kale Peterson of Estevan, modifieds.

Not all champions and runners up could be present at the awards night. Raynard was racing in Pennsylvania at the time of the banquet, where he placed fourth by the end of the night.

Peter Fedyk
Peter Fedyk, right, who takes care of safety for the Estevan Motor Speedway, was recognized as the volunteer of the year and received an award from Gregg Mann. Photo by Anastasiia Bykhovskaia

The volunteer of the year was also recognized during the night. This time the award went to Peter Fedyk, who looks after safety at the Motor Speedway.

Fedyk said he was planning to retire from his position with the track, but at the end of the night, he announced that he decided to stay for another year.

The night came to an end with the life auction by Mack Auction. Over 30 items donated by local businesses were auctioned off. A few dozens of handmade and donated items were also sold through the silent auction, raising money for the track upkeep.

© Copyright Estevan Mercury


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Estevan Mercury welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus

Mercury/Lifestyles POLL

Do you like the new Mercury/Lifestyles combined paper?

or  view results


Popular Estevan Sports