Estevan Strippers tournament wraps up after five days of hockey

Five days of hockey action in Estevan wrapped up Sunday evening at the 38th annual Estevan Strippers Molson Spring Bust Tournament.

The final game of the tournament proved to be one of the best, as the Estevan Eclipse defeated the Estevan Flyers 8-7 to win the Westmoreland Coal Division. The Avonlea Antiques beat the Reston Rockets 8-5 earlier on Sunday to place third in the division.

article continues below

In the Einar and Rod Fagerheim Division, the Souris Valley Sioux knocked off the Estevan 89ers 10-3 to finish first. The Regina Apex Hitmen edged the Estevan Vikings 7-6 for third.

The Regina Beach Burbot won the Tap House Division, beating the Torquay Hoppers 9-4 in the gold medal game. The Estevan 1124 Sharks wound up third, after they defeated the Regina Pirhanas 5-2.

In the Days Inn Division, the Estevan Tap House Rookies defeated the Estevan Cougars 8-1 to finish first, while the Estevan Tower Wolves beat the Alameda Red Army 7-4 in the third place game.

The Sedley Mohawks won the Preston Meyer Memorial Division. The final game against the Carnduff Chiefs wasn’t played, but the Mohawks were awarded first because they had a better record than the Chiefs in the division’s round robin. The Regina Blackouts edged the Broken Arrow Bruins 5-4 in the third place game.

Round-robins were used to determine the champions in the other five division. Two of the divisions were for women. In the Coldwell Banker Division, the Bienfait Bitches finished first at 3-0, the Reston Westman Fusion were second at 2-1, the Bienfait Bulldogs were third at 1-2 and the Estevan Wildcats were fourth at 0-3.

In the Certified Energy Services Division, the Moose Mountain Chill finished 3-0, the Oxbow Renegades were second at 2-1, the Swan Valley Extrme were third at 1-2 and the Weyburn Oil Queens were fourth at 0-3.

In the Ray Frehlick Division, the Regina Old Slow Shots were first at 3-0, the Fort Qu’Appelle Combines finished 2-1, the Energy City Wings were 1-2 and the Brandon North 40 were 0-3.

The Melville Moneymen won the Murray GM Division with a 3-0 mark. The Weyburn Ambassadors and the Estevan Capitals were tied for second at 1-1-1, but the Ambassadors were awarded second because they took fewer penalties. The Yorkton Old Relics were fourth at 0-3.

In the Bill Dutton Division, the Woodley Whites finished first with a 2-1 record, the Estevan Tower Wolves and the Regina Hooters were tied for second at 1-1-1, but the Tower Wolves won the tie-breaker. The Estevan Viking 45s were fourth at 1-2.

Forty teams entered this year’s tournament. Games were played at Affinity Place, the Power Dodge Ice Centre and the Bienfait Memorial Arena over the course of five days.

Several awards were also handed out. Allan Beblow of the Yorkton Old Relics won the oldest player award; he turns 70 on April 15. The Bienfait Bullodgs and the Oxbow Renegades shared the Tap House Sportsmanship Award for having the fewest penalty minutes in the tournament, and the Regina Pirhanas and the Torquay Hoppers shared the James Schroeder Memorial Sportsmanship Award.

© Copyright Estevan Mercury


NOTE: To post a comment you must have an account with at least one of the following services: Disqus, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ You may then login using your account credentials for that service. If you do not already have an account you may register a new profile with Disqus by first clicking the "Post as" button and then the link: "Don't have one? Register a new profile".

The Estevan Mercury welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to edit comments for length, style, legality and taste and reproduce them in print, electronic or otherwise. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher, or see our Terms and Conditions.

comments powered by Disqus

Spring POLL

Why are you happy that spring has arrived?

or  view results